You Are Here- Review

You Are Here by Thich Nhat Hanh (read June 27, 2016)

Some of you may have seen, but I recently posted about this book on international yoga day. My favorite yoga teacher recommended it in a newsletter, so I decided to check it out. The last semester (when she told her students about it) was really hectic with student org job, schoolwork, and personal life drama. This book seemed like a great way to de-stress and center myself.

It did just that. I was able to think about how I had been living my life, and focusing on things that were not the most beneficial. The book is largely a Buddhist teaching, which I had never studied— the closest I had gotten was certain yoga teachings. Hanh emphasizes finding beauty in everything, recognizing how “things interexist.” This book was a real eye-opener to attaining happiness, and being a positive influence on the world and myself. I wish I could write more about this book, but there’s nothing I can say to adequately translate the depth of this book or retell Hanh’s teachings.

When I read a book, I underline quotes, bracket things, and define words. I cannot tell you how much graphite I put in this book; it’s considerably more than I usually do. I believe everyone should read this book, especially on account of the seemingly-constant hate that we witness in the world.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

