Brave New World- Review

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (read June 7, 2016)

This book was given to me by my best friend (hi Chloe) for Christmas, because it’s one of her favorite books, and she knew it was one that I had been wanting for a while, but was still missing from my bookshelf.

I really like the not-so-futuristic, but different feel of the book. It’s a very realistic setting, all of the places exist in the world we know today, but the culture, the society, and the government structure is very different. Huxley creates a world focused less on individual relationships, and more on the good of the whole; by stabilizing the population into constant happiness, and conditioning the people to think as the totalitarian Controllers want, everyone is safer. It brings to mind Orwell’s 1984, where the government is in complete control over the people, and those who challenge that power are likely to pay for it.

The beginning is very broken up— it’s similar to movies where the screen is flashing between different scenes of different people at the time. You get introduced to a bunch of different characters, and what’s happening all at the same time very quickly. That portion kept me on my toes and I got to know so many characters at one time. Before this section, and during as well, I didn’t know who the “main characters” were or really where the plot was going. Most books are very explicit with who the story is about and what is the main plot of the book. Even if you don’t know the details, you generally know if something will be a love story, or a thriller. Maybe I didn’t know what to expect because I genuinely didn’t know much about the book or investigate the plot, but I enjoyed not knowing. I didn’t anticipate things, or predict what would happen next.

While this book took me a little while to read, it was extremely interesting and thought-provoking. It made me think about our society and its values, what it’s worth to try to make everyone happy, and the relationship between individuals and the general population.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

