Much Ado About Nothing- Review

Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare (read September 6, 2015)

I began reading this play once I found out that my roommate and a few of my other friends had been cast in our university’s production of it. After watching a few film adaptations of the show, and discussing the show’s characters at length with the roommate, I figured I would be able to conquer my first Shakespeare aka without having it spoon-fed to me from a teacher or director.

Knowing the context of the action and having it played before my eyes was extremely beneficial. I found I was reading the words fluently, without really having to translate the English to a more contemporary style in my head. The edition I read, Folger’s Shakespeare Library, was also very helpful in explaining allusions and Elizabethan phrases, in addition to elaborating on why some of the lines were so clever and genius.

In regards to the story itself, it had the classic “let’s pretend and tell everyone that this thing happened so we can get what we want” Shakespeare quality. The young, lovestruck characters were impulsive, as always, and the wise, older ones were collected and proper. The two that stood out were Beatrice and Benedick; they remind me of those kids that pull each other’s hair and give each other Wet Willy’s, because they like each other and don’t understand how to express that. I am a personal fan of poking fun at guys that I like, so I really enjoyed this. The writing is obviously very different from what I am used to reading. However, it wasn’t too difficult to read; I can see the greatness in it, but I don’t really appreciate it yet. I think I will be able to adapt to it a little better after reading another Shakespeare this year.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

